The craziest hike you’ve ever heard of…

July 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

2,663 miles from Mexico to Canada: let me introduce you to the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT). Imagine taking a 4 to 6 month break from your life to escape into the wilderness of the Pacific Coast — that’s what thru-hikers of the PCT do. I’ve known about this trail for years, because it’s a dear friend’s dream. When I read Wild by Cheryl Strayed, I was intrigued. When I actually met PCT hikers this past week in Yosemite, I yearned to do something so crazy, challenging and unconventional.

We were hiking a trail that’s part of the PCT when we came across three burly looking backpacking men. They looked like they’d been off the beaten track (quite literally) for a while. We asked them if they were PCT hikers and couldn’t believe that they actually were. I felt like we were meeting Santa Claus. Before meeting these three dudes, the PCT seemed as if it existed in an alternate reality. Now it seems possible. Talking to them inspired me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The craziest hike you’ve ever heard of… at Chaotically Calm.

meta

