On dreams.

June 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

Recently, I’ve been asked quite frequently what my dreams are. What my dream job is, where my dream place to live would be, what my dream life would look like in five or ten years. So I’ve been thinking about my dreams and trying to place them in a neatly wrapped package that looks presentable to everyone. But in my struggle to do this, I’ve come to realize something along the way: aren’t dreams a delusion, a fantasy? Aren’t they things that exist in a world that isn’t confined to three dimensions or newton’s law of gravity? I mean, when I think about my actual dreams, the dreams that entertain or frighten my sleep away, they’re almost like hallucinations. Time doesn’t always seem to make sense, and the plot lines and people seem as unbelievable and wild as ever. And when I wake up in the morning and groggily try to fit the pieces of my dreams together, I often can’t do it. It seems like dreams don’t want to be fully understood – they are elusive. They are fantastical things of a far off universe.

I think one of the amazing things about dreams is that the only limits that exist are the ones we place on them ourselves. And so the goal, the struggle and the journey is to lift these limits away from our dreams and to see their full potential. I can’t say what my true dream job or house or life looks like because they change all of the time. There are so many dreams out there but half the fun is conjecturing up new dreams that are bigger, better and bolder than the old ones. And how hard is it to verbalize or quantify something that exists in a separate reality?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On dreams. at Chaotically Calm.

meta

