My love affair with Mario Batali.

March 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

It all began with orange crocs. In every episode of Iron Chef America that features Mario Batali, he enters the kitchen in shorts, orange crocs and usually socks. This man has style. As an avid fan of the Food Network, I frequently find myself watching this overly-dramatized yet entertaining show with eyes glazed over and stomach rumbling. For those of you that are unfamiliar with the show, here’s a brief synopsis:

An incredibly talented chef (the challenger) competes with the likes of Mario Batali, Bobby Flay and Michael Symon (the resident iron chef) to try to make a better multi-course meal. While no money is at stake, pride seems to be the priceless prize. The competition is run by The Chairman (Mark Dacascos) who entertains with cheesy one-liners and acrobatic martial arts moves.

Although Mario Batali no longer competes on Iron Chef America, if I’m lucky enough, I’ll catch a rerun of an episode he’s featured in and my appetite instantly becomes insatiable. I’ve always admired his cooking through the television screen but I hadn’t confirmed how exquisite his food truly tasted until a trip to one of his LA restaurants.

His crocs reeled me in but his food made me stay. Osteria Mozza is one of, if not the best restaurants I’ve ever been to. My parents enjoy delicious food and take advantage of the LA restaurant scene, and if I’m lucky and home, I get to tag-along. And that was the case with Mozza. The joy that this four-course meal gave me rivals the joy I felt when I was accepted to the University of Michigan. From the burrata imported from Italy with mustard bread crumbs and leeks to the goat cheese ravioli with five lilies to the tagliatelli with oxtail ragu to the Torta della Nonna, I couldn’t believe the deliciousness of every single bite. While some restaurants seem to try too hard and produce pretty but mediocre tasting food, Mozza’s food is divine in every way. If you’re in the LA area and want a restaurant splurge, I urge you to visit Osteria Mozza and enjoy pure food bliss.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My love affair with Mario Batali. at Chaotically Calm.

meta

