20s

March 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Your 20s — what do you remember? Anything? Everything?

Did you finally move out of your parents’ house and into a small space you could barely afford? Were you rolling in money or broke? Did you meet your husband or wife or just date a bunch of unmentionables? Did you start a career or fail at a couple? Did you travel or volunteer? Did you embrace growing into an adult or did you tightly hold on to your adolescent years in hopes that they wouldn’t be a mere memory of the past?

There are plenty of different opinions about your 20s, like this one and this one, that try to quantify and verbalize what this decade of youth or adulthood is all about. You hear many different schools of thought and opinions. Some say to not worry about the future and follow your instinct, to do what you love and follow your passion. Others say to start building your future as soon as possible, to do what’s most practical. And others a mix of both or something totally different.

The decade of your 20s is a crapshoot. While some of your friends may be getting married, you might just be figuring out how to use an electric water kettle. This is a decade filled with so many possibilities – and that’s exactly what makes it so overwhelming. Decisions like where to move, what to do, who to stay in touch with and who to let fade out of that 4×4 picture are at your fingertips. What will you do?

I, for one, have decided that I am going to treat this decade as a first date. I plan to try new things and ultimately show this decade who’s boss. I want to teach this decade who I am, what I enjoy, what my passions are, and what I’m capable of. And in the process, I want to learn, learn, learn — to be a sponge that soaks up everything around me. I want to laugh, cry and scream. I want to get lost in this decade and then find my way home.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 20s at Chaotically Calm.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

